Book Review: Race the Darkness by Abbie Roads

Race the Darkness (Fatal Dreams, #1)Race the Darkness by Abbie Roads
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

REALLY impressed with this debut from Abbie Roads!

As Race the Dawn’s premise is quite complex, I really didn’t know what to expect from the title. Preternatural elements, religious fanaticism, and convoluted interpersonal relationships make this a difficult read to categorize. For me, it strikes a balance between my two favorite genres, romance and mystery/suspense, with a sprinkling of paranormal thrown in to keep readers on their toes.

Learning about Xander’s ability, post-trauma, gets the novel off to an interesting start. The hook did its job of investing me in the characters and action, and the momentum never lapsed. Thankfully, there was no sagging middle to contend with. Instead, the action chugs along at a steady pace, offering readers a new discovery in nearly every chapter.

The author’s writing really impressed me. Her vivid descriptions held me captive (no pun intended), and even the villains had a complexity and depth to them that goes beyond the typical good guy-bad guy scenario.

Race the Dawn is unlike anything I’ve ever read before. As this one was a win for me, I’ve already started on another from the author (Hunt the Dawn).

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: Race the Darkness by Abbie Roads

Leave a Reply

